Per's Swellendam Diary
The Hideaway in Swellendam South Africa

Award Winning Bed & Breakfast


The Hideaway country guest house in Swellendam, Western Cape, South Africa

The Suites
Yoga Retreat
Guest Comments
Photo Gallery
Per's Diary

Five Stars

Tourism Grading Council of South Africa
The Hideaway in Swellendam is an official five-star guest house.


AA International Grading
The AA International body has graded the Hideaway in Swellendam 'Superior'.

National Winners 2012 - AA Assured Accommodation Awards

The AA
"The national winners in the 2012 AA Quality Assured Accommodation Awards programme were announced in Johannesburg on 30 August 2012.  The Hideaway in Swellendam was selected by its guests as the best B&B in South Africa in competition with all the other B&Bs in the awards scheme.

Only AA Quality Assured members are eligible to participate in this programme, which is now in its nineteenth year and the only established mechanism for consumers to voice their opinion about the quality of tourist accommodation in Southern Africa.

Jackie and Stephen accepting the prestigious award
More than 61 000 consumers commented on approximately 800 establishments this year, either online, via eGuestSurv reviews, or by completing AA guest review forms. Guests commented on aspects such as service levels, the quality of facilities, cleanliness, ambience and food.  High scoring establishments were examined carefully and were visited by qualified and experienced assessors to verify that the scores were justified."

National Winners 2015 Sanlam Top Destination Awards

Sanlam Awards

Jackie and Stephen receiving the Sanlam Award
Voted by our guests as the Top 5 star B&B in South Africa for 2015, The Hideaway proudly collected the award at the gala evening sponsored by Sanlam and Discount Traveller at Ratanga Junction in Cape Town on 29 October 2015.

If you would like to vote for The Hideaway for an award in 2016, please click on the button to the right.

AA Hall of Fame

The AA
The Hideaway in Swellendam was selected for the AA Hall of Fame in 2000 and 2005.